So I moved to Mexico…

Sometimes, things just work out. Such was the case when a month ago I found myself in a taxi cab speeding through downtown Mexico City (el D.F.) from the airport to meet my boyfriend (who I hadn’t seen for four months) and to start a new job.

In a nutshell: I had applied to a job in Mexico that I didn’t think I’d get but applied anyway because it was in the same city to which my bf had just relocated to for school. And then all of a sudden I got it, with a request to relocate to Mexico City two days after receiving the news. The nature of my life has been such that this was a perfectly normal situation: pack up my life into a suitcase and fly to another country to start a completely new life for an undefined amount of time, forever a serial expatriate.

I left Guatemala back in May with no fixed plan except the vague and daunting task of finding the next job. Sadly it was not an unfamiliar circumstance to move back home and benefit from the kindness of family while desperately seeking my next gig (cheers to the boomerang kids). The transition from a summer of hermitage in the desert to an autumn of frenetic cosmopolitan life in one of the biggest cities in the world is not to be taken lightly, but however abrupt, it was a welcome change.

And oh, Mexico, how I love you already. I have never in my life enjoyed EVERY SINGLE MEAL of every day to this extent. So many flavors, so rico, so cheap. The rest of my life could be in shambles and I’d still be smiling in Mexico, because: tacos. And this, coming from one of the most difficult eaters you’ll ever meet (gluten-free + ovo-vegan = challenge for everyone involved). And there is so much to do, an evening stroll turns into a free concert, an impromptu protest, or an artisan market. I haven’t lived in a big city since study abroad in Buenos Aires and most of the places since then have been small, rural towns, so I’m pretty darn awed by how one public transit system can encompass such a diversity of places to go and things to do and culture culture everywhere.

And my new gig? Management Systems International (MSI) is a subsidiary of Coffey International Development, and contracted by USAID to carry out projects in different countries of the global south. I’m on the Monitoring and Evaluations (M&E) team, and one of two English speakers responsible for writing MSI’s reports to USAID on their current project here in Mexico. As a Development Studies major, the fact that there’s a USAID sticker on the smart phone they gave me is a conflicting experience, but a welcome one.

My first month here has been spent mostly eating tacos and getting lost in the city, but we’ve also been hunting for an apartment, running in the Bosque de Chapultepec (it’s a giant park, but doesn’t forest sound way better?), exploring downtown and finding all of the panaderías that sell pan de elote (naturally gluten-free, sweet corn bread).

More adventuras to come…

Leave a Reply

