From the archives: My AFS Study Abroad in Chile, 2005

There’s nothing quite like stumbling across old photos you forgot existed. Extra points when they were taken on a disposable camera (remember those?).

In the summer between my sophomore and junior years of high school, I did 6-week immersion program with a family in Viña del Mar, Chile. I’d wanted to study abroad since middle school when my first Spanish teacher told us how she learned Spanish studying abroad in Chile herself. At the time, taking a whole year seemed like more than my 16-year-old self could handle (“just think of all those AP classes I’d miss!”), but even just a summer was incredible. I started planning a college study abroad the day after I got back home…

Leave a Reply

