Sorry for dropping of the face of the earth again…

The thing about long days and slow internet is that they compound on laziness when it comes to keeping in touch. Anyway, we’re in the midst of another crazy season of brigades, only this time it’s manageable craziness thanks to the fact that we’ve worked our butts off the past two months to build a microfinance program that actually works. Works in the sense that students and community members are actually empowered to take ownership over the brigade program, meaning less micro-managing of microfinance on our part as staff.

The lessons I’ve learned over these past few months are plenty and invaluable, the key take-away points of which are 1) take your time 2) be open to truly communicating with people, and 3) clarity and understanding is the key to anything being successful and certainly to it being sustainable.

I’ve also managed to be every sort of sick over the past two months, surviving infections and my second bout of malaria. Suffice it to say I’m happy and healthy again (and taking anti-malaria pills), I’ve quit smoking and drinking coffee (more for the lack of quality coffee than any health concerns), and thanks to brigades I have a month-long detox from all other substances meaning that I actually may be acting healthier than I ever have in my entire life.

So my update from Ghana is “bibia boco”, it’s all good 🙂

Leave a Reply

