La Vida Porteña

So, finally my life has taken on some sort of a pattern.

Last week was our first real week of academic classes. Registration was a mess, with webpages crashing and half the students (including myself) not even receiving the correct web address. But it all worked out in the end and I’m taking all of the classes I wanted, so can’t complain. I’m taking an advanced Spanish language class and three latin american studies classes including history of latin america in the 20th century, political systems of latin america, and economic globalization in Argentina and latin america. So basically, I should know a thing or two about this continent by the end of my stay. My professors all seem really nice, maybe not as passionate about teaching as one would hope, but still knowledgeable. My globalization teacher is quite entertaining and has no reservations about sharing his opinion of the world with us, from why Che Guevara’s story is a total farce, Marx had nothing new to say, and how populism is a myth used to win elections. The best part by far is though is the schedule. Each class, with the exception of spanish, is only once a week for 2 hours (spanish is twice for 2), so I only have class monday through wednesday, with one class monday morning at 11, and two on tuesday and wednesday each starting no earlier than 1pm.
As for the rest of my week, I am also doing an internship with an argentine NGO called Responde that works in community development in small rural villages to counter rural to urban migration. I’m doing mostly translating work for their webpage and different grant applications right now, but eventually I’ll get a chance to travel to the pueblos with them and actually see the projects in action which is really exciting.
That’s all for now, I’m actually off to my first tango lesson, so wish me luck!
Leave a Reply

